In this installment of my how to make money online article series, we are going to discuss opt in list building secrets utilizing a PPC (pay per click) advertising strategy. For those of you that are unfamiliar, an opt in list is a simple list of subscribers to your site newsletter that you can target with a series of automated emails to present them with information, your product offers or any type of correspondence the website owner wishes. This is a very powerful tool because it gives the website owner a captive audience that is interested in what he or she has to say. With that said, below is a simple method anyone can use to help build an opt in list utilizing a PPC (pay per click) advertising strategy using Google AdWords.
– Type is a search in Google with your desired niche criteria (i.e. affiliate marketing)
– Pick one of the top competitors from the search result from the “sponsored” paid advertising list and copy the URL.
– Use keywordspy.com. They have a free trial available for you to use.
– Type in the URL of your top competitor to find out their top keyword list.
– The results show the ad position on Google AdWords for the site’s keywords. Pick the top 5 keywords by position and that will be your top 5 keywords.
– Setup your Google AdWords campaign by using your top 5 keywords found in the steps above. Make sure to setup separate ad groups for each keyword.
Next, we’ll discuss some more detailed explanation on advertising budget. The first step is to decide how many site visitors you need to reach your opt in subscriber goal. Most opt in squeeze pages convert subscribers at around 50% so if you are wanting 1,000 subscribers to your opt in list, then you will need 2,000 clicks from your Google AdWords ads to your opt in list squeeze page. Next, you need to find out how much those 2,000 clicks are going to cost. In Adwords, enter your 5 keywords and filter the results to not show any ideas for new keywords. Next select the estimated cost per click average (CPC). You will then see the cost for each keyword. So, if your average cost per click for those 5 keywords is $0.50 then your advertising budget will be $1,000. Next you need to set your daily budget. To do this, you need to divide your total budget by how many days you want it to take to get your required number of subscribers. Drawing on the example above, if your total budget was $1,000 and you wanted to get 2,000 subscribers at a cost of $0.50 per click in 7 days, your daily budget would be (1,000/7) = $142.86. This might sound like a lot, but you have to consider it an investment because once you have a big enough list, it will pay you back for years to come. Here is an example:
Number of subscribers: 10,000
Commission on product you are promoting to your list: $50.00
Average conversion percentage: 3%
Total commission: $15,000
Not too bad for sending one email!
Thank you very much for taking the time to read my article. I hope that you will take these tips and put them to good use in your own internet business. If you would like to read more, please visit my website!